From Up High

Wise men make more opportunities than they find.

बुद्धिमान लोग जितने अवसर मिलते हैं उससे ज्यादा अवसर बनाते हैं

What is it about meeting people on international flights?

On every international flight I’ve ever taken, I meet the most unique people, created meaningful friendships, and have fascinating conversations.  A dear friend of mine even claims to have fallen in love with a woman on his flight.  (I have yet to find out whether she ever called him back)…

Maybe it’s the free wine on board, the close quarters, or simply the altitude – there just has to be something to this!   You can tell me if you agree.

I had such an experience from Vancouver to Frankfurt – talking about all the complexities of life in the span of 9 hours. As my seatmate continued on to warm sunny beaches in the Middle East, and I onwards to India, I met another great traveler.  He ran an energy company (this energy nerd was all ears) and was traveling to Delhi for a 1 hour meeting from the US.  I did ask him if he had heard of skype… :P

Anyways, he gave me all sorts of advice about traveling in Delhi.  My nerves were a little on edge by the time the plane was over Afghanistan – it would be my first time in a developing country!  He told me about his love for the culture, the sights, smells, and sounds that he so enjoyed.  All of these stories made my nerves melt away, and the excitement build.

So here is my shout out to Bill from South Carolina – thanks for the encouragement!  When we both disembarked from the plane he called back to me, “Alex, I’m proud of you – this time in India is going to change your life.  Breath it all in and you’ll come back a new person.”

800px-Sunset_in_a_planeSo Bill, I think you’re right.

Leave a Reply

